This is one of those children books that I wasn’t sure if I read when I was in my college children’s lit class or not.  Since it is written by Shel Silverstein, I would be surprised that I didn’t read it, but I just couldn’t remember it.  I have always heard people talk about the book, but it just wasn’t jogging my memory.  So it found its way onto my list!  December 30, 2010…it’s about time I became acquainted with The Giving Tree!

A very simple story about a boy who grows up with a tree.   You get to follow the relationship between the boy and the tree through out the years and see just how much the boy asks of the tree (either verbally or just assuming it) and just how far the tree is willing to go in the giving.

I read some info about it after I read the book and I guess there are 2 camps of thought about the book.  I’ll let you do the research, but for the blog, I will just share my own thoughts. Okay?  Great!

My first thought was this story was about the sacrificial mom syndrome.  I had a very good friend many years ago who brought this idea up to me.  As stay at home moms, we gave and gave and gave to our children and never took the time to take care of ourselves.  In the end, that kind of giving  (even to those beautiful children whom we love so much) is harmful.  There comes a time, when we as parents need to say, “Honey, I just need a moment.”  or “No, Honey, I can’t get that for you because its jut not in the budget.”  There is no harm in saying “no” and it is certainly a lesson I have had to learn as a parent.

Honestly, I’m not certain if I like this book or not.  It is kind of sad..to me.  But to others, it may be like a warm hug.  It really is about perception, and you would have to read it for yourself to understand.  If you have read this book, I would love to hear your thoughts on the story.  It is just bitter-sweet for me.  I want to like it. I want to love it.  But I just can’t get that warm and fuzzy feeling about it.

