I have read hundreds of books in my life, and there are very few (thus far) that I believe can totally change your life..or at least have changed mine!  This book has done that!  It explains so much!

It is written by the founder of the Religious Science faith, Ernest Holmes.  His writing is definitely old-fashioned, which simply means it is written for college level reading.  Now a days, books are written for a 3rd-8th grade reading level.  Getting used to reading his books takes some time.  Once you do, you are in for a pleasurable and life-changing read!!!

I believe thoughts are things and they create our life.  That is a very simplistic way to describe what I feel and believe.  Based on this, I can tell you with absolute certainty that I have created the knee pain that I am feeling in my left knee.  How do I know this?  Well, as soon as I felt the slightest “negative difference” in my knee, I started to focus on it.  Then when I felt a pain, I focused even more on that pain.  Soon enough it was bad enough and not going away; I had to stop skating and see a physical therapist and a sports medicine doctor.  Surgery has even been brought up.  Great!   So, I have been wondering, “If my thoughts create my life, then how the heck do I *change* my thinking and reverse this seemingly physical imperfection?”

I found the answer in this book!  Seriously, I did!  I wasn’t even looking for it!  Let’s keep in mind, though, that once you ask the Universe/God/Creator/Source a question, It has to answer.  And it did!

You might be wondering why I picked up this book in the first place?  No; it has nothing to do with the title of the book, though I do love the title!  I am taking Science of Mind II class at church.  It is a required class to become a lay minister/practitioner in the Religious Science faith.  This is one of my dreams/goals :).  This book is one of my text books for the class.

I have only taken one week of the 10 week course, and we were only required to read 2 chapters of the book so far.  However, like all other books, once I start reading, I need to read all the way through so I can blog.  Besides the fact, it was a fascinating read!!!!

In Religious Science our prayer is called Spiritual Mind Treatment.  In Science of Mind II, we are focusing on daily spiritual practices which include prayer and meditation.  This book is all about that!  Prayer!!!!!!!!!  Ever since I was a little girl, I have prayed daily.  The difference between then and now is I no longer pray to a God up in the sky and ask him to do something for me.  I now pray an affirmative prayer realizing that God is not up in the sky somewhere, but right here and everywhere and I am part of God.  My prayers are realizations of the perfection in my (and others’) life that has been covered up by some limited belief I have held on to or created….usually brought on by some sort of fear.

Once again, I have gone through and underlined passages that spoke to me, and I found myself dog-earring most of the pages.  (Not helpful for blogging.)  I will tell you that chapter 2 is my favorite chapter in this book!  I kept underlining passages and writing notes beside them like “This is a great passage for Nick!” (Nick is my 21-year-old son.)  Here is an example of that, “Science of Mind and Spirit bears the same relation to religion that natural science bears to the laws of nature.  It is a science of mental and spiritual phenomena, and, as such, it appeals to adherents of all religious beliefs, as well as to those who have no particular religions conviction; it appeals to all students of life.”  My son, Nick, loves to study the different religious beliefs out there; he believes in science and questions the reality of a god.  This particular chapter discusses the marriage of religious faith and science :).  Here is another great quote from this chapter:  “The birth of spiritual ides into the human consciousness meets with three distinct reactions:  the orthodox say that God never intended such things to be, else He would have revealed them through His prophets; the materialist laughs at them; the child-like are receptive.”  This simply reminds us that Christ said in Luke 18:16, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children.”

There really are some great thoughts in this book, and I have sooooooo many notes referring to some of my marriage challenges, my knee challenges, prayer, how your thoughts create your life…so much more.  So I will leave you with two more thoughts from this book…one is from the very beginning of the book and the next from close to the end…..

This particular thought was very appropriate to the title of this blog “The God Project”…

“But we must not go searching after God.  God is in you and in me.  therefore we each must penetrate more deeply into our own nature, and just so surely as we do, we will have a very marvelous experience.  We will find a dept to ourself that we have never realized.”     This has certainly been true of this blog and what I have experienced through this deep soul-searching through pages and pages of books and the opportunities I have experienced!

“If God is in every place there can be no place where God is not.  So in the midst of the storm there is a calm; in the center of every person’s life is pure Spirit.”  This was pure bliss to me!

Peace and blessings, My Dear Readers.  Peace and blessings!

