I don’t know about you, but my heart broke the day Patrick Swayze died.  There were all kinds of “Nobody puts Baby in a corner” posts from my friends on Facebook.  I don’t think there is a woman in her 40’s who doesn’t know who this man is or didn’t have a crush on him!  But I found out so much more about him while reading this book; he was so much more than eye candy!  His book was deeply profound, and even though I have had it sitting on my “to read” pile for months, I have found that I am reading it at the PERFECT time!

Not sure if you (my dear reader) know that I am “Fresh Meat” for the Treasure Valley Rollergirls.  This basically means I am in training trying to get my skills up in order to draft onto a team to play in the arena against other teams from around the nation.   I was suppose to be drafting this weekend, but I injured my knee and I am on “restricted skating” duty per doctor’s orders.  I have been heartbroken for the last week.  In the last 3 days, I have read 3 books and ALL of them had something to do with my dreams……and following them.  And Patrick’s book hit home as he spoke in great detail about the MANY times he has injured his knee and how it has affected his Football dream, his Olympic gymnastic dreams, and his dream to become a principal ballet dancer!  Wow…I’m right there with  him!!!!  I had no idea about his knee issues…until now!

Ever since Patrick was in The Outsiders, I had a bit of a crush on him…let’s face it…he was a hottie!  But I had no idea  just how deep he was or what he thought on a personal level.  (Why would I?  It’s not like I knew him!)  Yet early on in this book, I got a very strong sense of who he was….”….growing up with a father who was both strong and sensitive made a huge impression on me.  It made me realize that having a gentle side didn’t  make you less of a man.  In fact, it made you a better one.”  AMEN!!!!!!!!!

He also learned early on that you can conquer fear by making it work for you.  Absolutely!  I have certainly learned that over my life, and it certainly has been a theme in several of the books I have read this year.  And over and over again, in this book, Patrick talks about facing his challenges and his fears!  Because of his knee issues, he constantly had to shift and refocus and find new dreams.  He said, “..I somehow knew instinctively that when one dream dies, you have to move on to a new one.  The unhappiest people in this world are those who can’t recover from losing a dream — whose lives cease to have meaning.  I wasn’t going to let that happen to me.  It was a revelation that would later save my life.”

While I read this book, I was amazed by how often Patrick had to re-invent his dream and his life.  I was shocked by how many other movies/shows he was in that I had no clue about.  I guess I truly was one of those people who loved him for his work in just a *couple* of movies and never really followed his career.  Then again, I don’t know anyone’s career that I follow that closely.  I don’t have time for that.  However, I LOVED reading about his life.  I loved reading about his life with Lisa!  It truly is a love story..not just the love that he and Lisa shared but the love he found for himself and the strength he found for himself.  There are moments in this book that will make you laugh and certainly there are moments in this book that will make you cry.  There are some very deeply profound spiritual moments in this book that are not to be missed!

This book was certainly not disappointing.  What I found disappointing was the fact that I could not find 3 of the movies he mentioned in his book at my local video stores.  I am totally bummed about that.  I guess I will need to hit the internet and do some searching!

