Looking for a quick, inspirational, entertaining read?  Look no further!!!

Since I am trained in the art of oral storytelling, I am a total sucker for a good storyteller.  Let me just say that the title “author” does not mean you are a good storyteller!  However, Johnna Johnson has a true gift!  Many people can TELL a story, but getting it into writing with the same flare is completely different.  Her life stories will make you laugh, cry, and feel like they are happening to you!  You will be thoroughly entertained!

With that said, this isn’t just a book of excellent personal stories.  These stories are used as excellent examples of how to actually live your life and put the principles of living in excellence and courageously in action!  The whole time I was reading her book, I took notes and followed along.  Her book suggests you use a journal or buy the companion workbook to this book; I just wrote in the margins (since I printed out the ebook).  I like having the notes right beside the text, so I can go back and re-read what prompted my notes :).

The 2nd paragraph into the actual text of the book says this about the prospect of jumping out of a perfectly good airplane:

“If you are like 99 percent of the population, my guess is that you would not jump.  Yet,  it’s at that very moment of decision — when we chose to jump, in spite of our fears — that we build the confidence we need to take full advantage of our potential.  When we choose to  jump, in spite of the fear, we choose to live lives with more adventure, passion, challenge, excitement, meaning, appreciation, accomplishment, and excellence.”

This paragraph totally sums up the life I chose to live at the beginning of this year….I have totally chosen to live fearlessly!!!!  I even have a blog post about “Just Jump” (my own experience)….so this book is perfect for me!!!!

Johnna Johnson suggests that there are 4 types of Action Zones in life:  Zombie, Comfort, Panic and Jump.  She describes all 4 of these and challenges you to figure out which one you are in….and if you are not in that Jump Zone yet, she challenges you to get there!!!  She gives you the tools to get there..you are not doing it alone!

I did have a good laugh though.  While I was reading about the comfort zone, she said this, “Instead, you choose to put on your warm woolen slippers, pour a cup of hot tea, and cuddle up with a great book with your favorite comforter–all in front of a warm, crackling fire.”  Ummm..ya…..that is EXACTLY what I looked like while reading this..minus the fire place (it’s not cold enough in Boise for that yet!)  I am in no way sitting in a comfort zone, but resemblance to my current situation while reading this book just made me laugh!

Like I said, her storytelling is amazing.  She tells a story of her sky diving experience, and she shared an image that I just loved:  “Do you know what happens when you put your leg outside of a moving airplane?  It slams up against the plane, confirming your insanity.”  I LOVED THIS!!!!!  How many times have you done something that you KNEW was crazy, and had something confirm it, yet you found the courage to face the fear and do it anyway????  Maybe that is why I loved this story.  I haven’t jumped out of a perfectly good airplane…yet…but I certainly have had the “OH MY GOSH!  WHAT WAS I THINKING????” moments!

Once again, this is a very short book, and if I shared everything I loved about this book, there would be no reason for you to run out and buy it for yourself!  So I will just share a couple of quotes I loved from the book.

“When we jump out of our comfort zones, we very often find that what we feared most was truly nothing to fear after all.”

“When you know where you are going, you are much more likely to reach your destination.”

“Success is a process, always in progress, so you will never be ‘finished,’ but you can get started today.”

“A setback is just a set-up for a come back!” ~ Mary Kay Ash

“Ultimately, your thoughts create your beliefs.  your beliefs create your feelings.  Your feelings create your attitude.  Your attitude creates your actions and your actions create your results.”

“How can you afford NOT to be doing something you are passionate about?”

“Feel the fear, then the faith, and Just Jump!”

There was one passage that really gave me a feeling of “relief” when it comes to my son, Nate.  “When you are crystal clear on what you want and why you want it, the impossible becomes probable.”   So my husband and I always worry about our son, Nate.  He has had some challenges when it comes to school and understanding things.  He often says, “I don’t get it.”  When he is cleaning, he says he is done, when I can clearly see there is still work to be done.  Nate says he can’t see it.  Now, just in case you might think its a “guy” thing….even my hubby could see where Nate still needed to get the job done.   It’s not a “kid” thing either, cause Omi Girl can see it.  It’s just Nate.  (I won’t get into the whole long story about him.)  I will just say that we have reason to worry about him once he leaves the house.  Soooooooo…..the other day, he asked if he could clean the garage for some money.  He wanted to earn enough money to buy Halo Reach (the new game that came out this week).  He kept asking me how much I was going to pay him to clean the garage.  I told him I didn’t know; we would just see.  Now, in the past, we have told him that his payment would depend on how well he did the job…hoping this incentive would help him do a more thorough job of cleaning.  And Nate didn’t know how much the game would cost.  Knowing EXACTLY what he wanted the result to be..being very clear with himself…he went out to the garage and cleaned it out.  When he was done, he parked the car in the garage and didn’t ask us to check it out.  The next morning I went out to the garage and IT WAS GORGEOUS!!!  I had no idea he knew how to clean that way!  There is hope!  If he is clear about what he wants and why he has to do what he has to do get what he wants and keeps his eye on the prize and not the process, he CAN do it!!!!!  I feel so much better now!

There are so many great teachings in this book.  I loved it.  It is only 54 pages long…can be found in hard back…with a companion book.  Seriously, if you are stuck in a rut and/or have goals you want to accomplish, pick up the book and get to work!  You will love it!

