Want to go on a magical adventure to find your destiny???  Then this is the book for you!!!  This is the 3rd time I have read this book, and each time I find and understand something new!  As a matter of fact, so far in this 52 books in 52 weeks journey, this book has been quoted in 2 of the books I have read this year!  That is how amazing this book is!

I bet if you asked 10 people if they have read this book, at least 1 of them..maybe even 2..have said they have…and more will say, “I have heard a lot about it!”  This is definitely a must read!

In this book you get to follow along with Santiago, a shepherd boy, who hears the call to follow a path to ancient lands to find gold..along the way he is tempted by many different things to let go of his calling and his dream and “settle”.  How many times have you had a dream in your life and have been tempted by others to “settle”?  I know I have.  Or  maybe, I have just never found my true calling.  I don’t know.  Sometimes I feel like that dog in the movie “Up” where he always gets distracted by the squirrels.  “SQUIRREL!”  Yup, sometimes I feel like that is me..I go off chasing the squirrels of life :).

The introduction to this book is amazing and insightful.  Coelho has often been asked, “What’s the secret behind such a huge success?” (meaning this book)  His response:  “I don’t know.  All I know is that we all need to be aware of our personal calling.  What is a personal calling?  It is God’s blessing, it is the path that God chose for you here on Earth.  Whenever we do something that fills us with enthusiasm, we are following our legend.  however, we don’t all have the courage to confront our dream.”

He says there are 4 obstacles to following our dream/destiny/legend:

1) We are told from childhood onward that everything we want to do is impossible:  “We grow up with this idea, and as the years accumulate, so too do the layers of prejudice, fear and guilt.  There comes a time when our personal calling is so deeply buried in our soul as to be invisible.  But it’s till there.”

2) Love: “We know what we want to do but are afraid of hurting others by abandoning everything in order to pursue our dream.”

3) Fear of the defeats we will meet on the path:  “The secret of life, though, is to fall seven times and to get up eight times.”

4) The fear of realizing the dream for which we fought all of our lives:  “The mere possibility of getting what we want fills the soul of the ordinary person with guilt.  We look around at all those who have failed to get what they want and feel that we do not deserve to get what we want either.”

This was all just from the introduction.  You can only imagine what happens in the actual story, and what you will learn there!!!!!

So this begs the question:  What is your personal legend/dream/destiny?  What obstacles are you facing right now, and what do you need to do to get back on the right path?

Happy Reading!!!!!

