“When we realize the futility of words, then we should know that our life is going deeper.  We have started living.” ~ His Holiness Sri Sri Ravi Shankar from his book God Loves Fun

Speechless is exactly what I feeling right  now.  Words do not do how I feel justice.  The only word that comes up every time I think about what I experienced this afternoon is “Sweet”.  Not the “bubble gum, I gotta crush on  you sweet” but the sweet as in “the sweet spot”..the feeling that is so intense and pure…that kind of sweet.  That is the only way to describe the experience I shared with about 50 other people today.

Guruji came to Boise this weekend and held an evening of Wisdom and Meditation.  There were several hundred people at that event; that was last night (Sunday night).  Tracy and I went to that.  We were probably in the 20th row from the stage, maybe?  The evening was amazing, and I’m not certain what I expected.  Truth be told I was a little skeptical of anyone called a “guru”.  Yet, what I saw on stage was this soft spoken, good sense of humor, reverent Spirit.

Then today my church Center for Spiritual Live of the Treasure Valley was blessed to have him visit the construction site of our new church building.  He  hardly EVER does this, so I’m told.  This little event was much more intimate than the several hundreds of people who attended last night’s event.  I was actually able to sit at his feet..just a few feet away.  Again, I don’t know what I expected.  Yet, what I found was this overflowing, over whelming sense of love and compassion.  I found myself crying..blubbering.  I would collect myself long enough to take pictures, but then I would cry some more.

His presence just radiated love, compassion & peace.  I imagine this is what it might have felt like to sit at the feet of the great teacher Jesus.  I imagine this is what it might have felt like to sit at the fit of Gandhi.  I imagine this is what it might feel like to sit at the feet of the Dali Lama.  Guruji has the heart of service.  His sincere wish for peace for this world is amazing.  He created the Art of Living Foundation that is supported 100% by volunteers who teach meditation to children, youth, prisoners, people affected by natural disasters.  They bring physical aid to those affected by the natural disasters.  He teaches empowerment through stress free living.  He believes that children should be taught a little about each religion and if we all did this, wars would end.

Last night someone asked a question that went something like this “How does God fit into your practice?”  And his reply was, you don’t try to fit God into anything.  God is in everything, everyone, every being.  God IS.  You don’t fit him into anything.  God is within me, and within you.    It was beautiful.

I know I have asked myself a million times, if I left the Junior League, what would I do?  Where would I take my heart of service and put it to good use?  Where would I be of service empowering youth.  I believe I have found the answer.  I was called to be of service to the youth.  I have been called to this spiritual journey.  Everything I have done in my  life has brought me here to this moment.  And I KNOW without a shadow of a doubt where I need to go next.

I remember when I was in 5th grade I read a book and wrote a paper on Gandhi.  He touched my little heart so much, and I had no idea what to do with it then.  Fast forward 31 years, and here I sat at the feet of this incredible man whose grandfather spent 20 years working and studying with Gandhi.  How often in your life do you get to be THAT close to a man who was that close to such an Icon?  I can’t even put the correct words to how I feel.  Clarity.

I have met and even protected some pretty “powerful” men in my time.  CEO’s of a major insurance company, Professional Sports Stars, World Famous Musicians, Movie Stars, James Arthur Ray…but NONE of them come close to Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.  None of them come close to the presence Guruji  has and the impact he has made on this planet.  Yet, Guruji, is so loving and unassuming…so….profoundly sweet.  It’s kinda crazy.  It’s not like I talked to this man one on one.  I doubt he even knows I exist.  Yet, he touched me so deeply.  It’s like being wrapped up in a warm blanket on a cold winter’s night.

