So it took me a week (today) to finish The Lost Symbol, and no this was not counted as one of the 52 books in 52 weeks of 2010.  However, it was a phenomenal ending to 2009, which we all know really means beginning of 2010.  For every ending is just a beginning.

As I finished the book, I realized that it just reiterated the name of this blog: The God Project.

I certainly don’t want to give any spoilers from the book, but wow is it amazing and thought provoking!  I think I took notes or dog-eared (I know for alot of you book purists out there..dog earring a book is a sin..please forgive me) pages of important ideas to remember.

Here are some thoughts in random order from the ending of the book..and certainly not direct quotes….

When the Bible mentioned our bodies are Temples….and we are to care for this temple…its possible that this “temple” it refers to is our MIND..not our physical body.  That was a new idea for me….OUR MIND.  It made complete sense to me.  Our bodies will die and fade away but our MIND is (where I believe) our soul/consciousness lives.  It is our Soul that continues to live and be, and we must care for it NOW in THIS life in order for it to be worth anything after our physical body has faded.  If God created us in his image…its not our bodies that are in his image, but our MINDS.  If he is a creator and he created us in his image, then WE are creators.  We can create the life we want.  We can create THINGS.  Look at all the amazing things we as human beings have created since our births.  Amazing.  We ARE creators!  With that  said our thoughts create things.  Good or bad..our thoughts do the creating.  What are YOU creating in your life?  How are you caring for your mind to make sure right thoughts create right things.

hmmmm….  Mormons (or LDS) wear rings or t-shirts that say CTR (Choose The Right).  I always think about this pertaining to “morally right”..whatever they deem to be morally right.  But what if it’s not just “morally right”.  What if we look at it as choosing the right things in our lives…what we read, what we watch, what we listen to, who we hang with, decisions that we make.  All of these things affect our THINKING and therefore affect what we CREATE.  Huh.  Just something to think about.

Another thing it mentioned was the Hebrew word Elohim for God..which is actually plural.  When I practiced Wicca and even as I studied Hindu traditions, there were many “Gods”, but I have always believed that many “Gods” were actually “One God”…as everything is connected.  Our consciousness is connected; Jung called it the Collective Unconscious.  So if we are all one..”the many become one”…why wouldn’t the “many gods” be a facet of “one god”.  The many become one.  This would explain why all of our stories are the same no matter where on the Earth we live or in what generation.  We share the same archetypes..the same story lines.  Because we are all connected.  We are all one.  If that is the case, why would we treat others so poorly….for as we treat another, we treat ourselves and everyone else connected to us.

I will leave you with my favorite quote from the book that will start my 52 books in 52 weeks 2010 journey.  According to The Lost Symbol, this quote comes from “The Masonic Bible” which consists of the Old & New testaments along with Masonic philosophical texts.  I have no idea if this book exists, but I love this quote:

“Time is a river…and books are boats.  Many volumes start down that stream, only to be wrecked and lost beyond recall in its sands.  Only a few, a very few, endure the testings of time and live to bless the ages following.”

May we all find the books that feed our soul and help us to continue to grow in wisdom and feed and care for our temples!

