Why “The God Project”? That’s a really great question, and the only answer I have is: it came to me in the middle of the night while I was trying to sleep.

I spent much of my day (now yesterday) feeling a bit out of sorts (confused if you will). I had a teacher once, James Arthur Ray, who used to cheer and clap when you said you were confused. He said that being confused meant that you were about to learn something new. And yes, indeed, that is what this feels like. I have had this feeling before, and every time, there is something new to be learned just on the other side of this feeling. So I thought that maybe I would start a blog and see where this leads me, and I thought I would invite the general public, my friends and family to read along and take the journey with me.

I was lying in bed, trying to sleep, and thinking about what I would blog about. What is it that I need to learn? Since it was December 29th, I was thinking about the year that is ending and the year that is just ahead. What did I learn in 2009? What do I need to do in 2010 to change some things in my life? I’m not big on resolutions because I feel like they are just ideas that are destined to fail. Great way to start a new year, huh? Hey, I’m just being honest! I thought about setting goals for my life and setting challenges to meet. One of the ideas was reading (and completing) a different book each week (52 books this year. Some may read faster or slower than others, but still 52 books in 2010.) I would blog on these books and what I have learned. 52 book reports? Doesn’t that sound like fun?! I can tell you there was a time when I hated to read, and the thought of actually giving or writing a book report made me sweat!

But still, I have this feeling that I need to learn something. I need to grow. There is this flower just waiting to bloom in gloriously, full color, but yet, I don’t even know what seed to begin to sew in order for it to bloom! Crazy! And even if I did decide to start on this endeavor, what would I call the blog? 52 Book Reports? Ya, I would want to read a blog with that name, too! So there I was lying in bed, when all of a sudden “The God Project” popped in my head.

The God Project???? What the heck? Where did that come from, and why??? I don’t know. But when something like that just pops into my head, it must mean something; so there you have it. The name to my blog: The God Project.

The only conclusion I can make is that 2010 will be a year of great spiritual growth. The books I will read will be fiction, self-help, spiritual, non-fiction, historical (possibly), on wealth & health. They will be all over the place. I will endeavor to watch some uplifting and spiritually minded movies, but I promise you, I will also see some “stupid funny” movies such as “The Hangover”. And of course, since I AM a woman, I can assure you there will be some romantic comedies in there as well. Oh ya, and since I am a Mom, I can guarantee you there will be some kids movies thrown in for good measure! As for experiences, let me give you some examples of what happened in 2009. I climbed Table Rock Mountain here in Boise last year, and the first time I did it, I cried like a baby. It was a huge growth experience for me. I also shaved my head last summer (on the day Michael Jackson died) and I learned so much about myself. AND I started on a health kick, and I am still learning so much about myself and why I have an addiction to food; I’m sure this will be a topic of conversation as well.

When it comes to religion, I do not subscribe to any one doctrine, belief, religion, philosophy. I have read a lot of mythology. I have read the Bible several times. I have read the Hindu Vedas. I have read the Book of Mormon once. As a child I was Assembly of God turned Seventh Day Adventist at 18 years old. At 30, my family started attending the Unity Church and I started veering towards a more metaphysical/spiritual thinking. At 33 my family started practicing Wicca. Now at 40, I do not subscribe to any ONE thing. I believe in a Higher Power whom I pray/talk to every day. I believe there is divinity in all of us. I believe in polarity: for every good there is a bad. I believe a lot of things, which I’m sure you’ll figure out as time goes by.

So there you have it. The God Project. I guess I’ll sum it up with this text from the Bible: In Luke 17:20 it says “The Kingdon of God is within you.” We all have “The Divine” within us, whatever you believe “The Divine” to be. That is what this blog is all about. The God Project. The God within me. A self-discovery.

P.S. I would love suggestions for books to read and movies to see this year…let them fly!

